National Grief Awareness Day

National Grief Awareness Day

Even the best days can sometimes be cloudy when life’s difficulties rear their ugly heads. There is a silver lining, however. These people are available to help us get through the darkest days. This is about looking at grief and helping others to cope. To show others that we care, reach out to them and lend a hand on National Grief Awareness Day.

It is important to understand what grief is before you can help others, and yourself. Grief is often triggered by the loss of someone or an important person in your life. It is common to have strong bonds of love or affection that make it difficult to deal with the influx of emotions. Many people forget about the cognitive, psychological and social difficulties that can result from losing someone we love.

Many people believe that there are five stages to grief. It is important to help someone through these stages during times of grief. The first stage is denial. This is when they don’t believe that the cause of their grief ever occurred. This stage can be as simple as being present during it. Many people experience this stage when they are reminded of how to cope with their grief. The second stage is the anger phase, in which the grieving person attacks anyone and everything around them. This stage can sometimes lead to physical manifestations of grief in violent ways. The third stage is that of bargaining. Here they are more focused on their beliefs or what if statements, and their ideals.

This stage can be marked by guilt, but many people find that just being there can help them cope. The fourth stage of grief is depression. This is when they realize the grief is real and it hits them hard. They may not have been depressed in the past, but this is when they feel the most severe depression. It can be difficult to handle this moment, but reminding them of the positive things can help. Acceptance is the final stage. This is where they look forward and not back. They won’t forget but they will continue to move forward and be able to go back to normal.

These stages aren’t necessarily linear. We don’t always complete them all at once. They can be rearranged for hours, days, weeks, or months. Every person is unique, and so are their grieving methods and ways of coping with each stage.

Help them. Even though not everyone is clinically registered, there are ways we can help. You can offer comfort and warmth, as well as jokes and laughter. There are many ways that we can support those who are grieving. Sometimes, it is worth seeking out a professional such as a counselor or therapist if there are many issues. Remember to be there for them, regardless of their situation and offer your support if they are in need.


Aug 01 - 30 2024


All Day



Next Event

Go to Top